FootballSports News

Nominees for premier league Save of the Season award

The premier league has also announced the nominees for the first ever Save of the season award.

Ten of the very best stops by goalkeepers in 2021/22 have been nominated for the Castrol Save of the Season award, and you can help to decide who wins.

Manchester United’s David De Gea has been nominated twice for the Premier League’s Castrol Save of the Season award.

The Spaniard was in inspired form for much of 2021/22, and is the only goalkeeper to appear more than once in the shortlist. De Gea has been recognised for efforts against Wolverhampton Wanderers and Leicester City, respectively – both of which date back to the early months of the 2021/22 season.

Aaron Ramsdale and Bernd Leno has also been nominated for the Castrol Save of the Season 2021/22. The gunners are the only club to have two goalkeepers shortlisted amongst the top 10 nominations.

First up, we have Ramsdale’s stunning diving save against Leicester City to push James Maddison’s free-kick on to the bar, before getting up to deny Jonny Evans on the follow-up. 

And Bernd Leno’s outstanding reflexes to flick Romelu Lukaku’s header off the woodwork from close range, leaving the Chelsea forward in disbelief.

Edouard Mendy’s fingertip stop against Brentford also made the shortlist for the Premier League’s Save of the Season award as well as saves from Dubravka, Alisson, Martinez, Pope and Pickford.

It’s time for you, the fans, to choose which of the nine nominees from eight different clubs will win the award.

Castrol Save shortlist
Alisson (NOR 0-3 LIV) 14 Aug 2021
Bernd Leno (ARS 0-2 CHE) 22 Aug 2021
David De Gea (WOL 0-1 MUN) 29 Aug 2021
David De Gea (LEI 4-2 MUN) 16 Oct 2021
Edouard Mendy (BRE 0-1 CHE) 16 Oct 2021
Aaron Ramsdale (LEI 0-2 ARS) 30 Oct 2021
Emiliano Martinez (AVL 2-1 LEI) 5 Dec 2021
Martin Dubravka (NEW 0-4 MCI) 19 Dec 2021
Jordan Pickford (EVE 1-0 CHE) 1 May 2022
Nick Pope (AVL 1-1 BUR) 19 May 2022

Your vote will be combined with those of a panel of football experts to determine the winner, who will be announced later this week.

Related Articles

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button