FootballSports News

OFFICIAL: Ronaldo wins Man Utd Player of the Year award

Cristiano Ronaldo has won Manchester United’s Player of the Year award, Man Utd announced.

The Portuguese enjoyed a productive first season back at Old Trafford, scoring 24 goals in all competitions, with 18 of them coming in the Premier League.

6Da9C8Bb 85Fb 4A3A Ab6C 8A41736C7Be9 1903 000001165F496346 File

Cristiano has produced a number of match-winning displays for the Reds across the season, including his hat-tricks against Tottenham Hotspur and Norwich City, and his second debut against Newcastle United when he netted twice in front of the ecstatic Old Trafford crowd.

In addition to his domestic goalscoring exploits, the Portuguese striker bagged six Champions League goals, demonstrating once again his ability to deliver at the highest level of club football.

The six-time Ballon d’Or winner is no stranger to individual honours, of course, and the annual award announced today was preceded by five Player of the Month accolades during the season.

The Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year award is voted for by the club’s supporters across the globe.

Fans were invited to vote for the player they felt deserved the award, with Ronaldo ultimately receiving 60% of the total number of votes.

De Gea finished second in the voting, with 29%, while Fred with 2%.

Ronaldo is also in with a chance of winning the PFA Player of the Year award, where he’s been nominated alongside Kevin De Bruyne, Harry Kane, Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane and Virgil van Dijk.

8F79Bb79 431E 40Bc Acce Fca9F23E14Ea 1903 000001168228521D File

This is the fourth time that Ronaldo has claimed the Player of the Year award at United, having previously won it in 2003-04, 2006-07 and 2007-08, the season that saw the Red Devils win the Champions League.

De Gea has also won the award four times – and three times in a row between 2013 and 2016 – and players from Portugal have dominated for the last three seasons, with Bruno Fernandes claiming the accolade in 2019-20 and 2020-21.

Luke ShawAnder HerreraRobin van Persie and Antonio Valencia have also claimed the award once each over the past 10 years.

While Ronaldo was successful in the voting for United’s Player of the Year award, he missed out on the gong that is voted for by his team-mates.

Indeed, United’s Players’ Player of the Year award was claimed by De Gea for the 2021-22 campaign, the fourth time he has earned that recognition in his career.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button